

MISSON COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held via Zoom on 17th February 2021

at 7.00pm

Committee Members present:

Ann Beacham; Lizzy Clifton; Ian Cotterhill; Amanda Hannigan; Sue Howard; Spencer Robey; Jan Robey;

Others present:

Janet Allport; Lucy Buckley; Peter Edwards; Janis James; Laura Garnett; Emma Paragreen; Johnathan Paragreen; Liz Rowe; Mandy Walker; Julie Watkins; Jayne Watson; Andrea Wilcox

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies of absence were received from Wendy Threlkeld; Sharon Constantine; Mary Morgan

2. MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING OF 19th FEBRUARY 2020 (previously circulated by email) AND ANY MATTERS ARISING FROM MINUTES

The Minutes of the last meeting were approved with one slight amendment to Reg Threlkeld report under November: Mandy Walker pointed out that the event was put on by village volunteers. With this slight amendment the Minutes were approved and will be signed in due course.

Lizzy C thought it was 40 years this year since the MCA became a Charity. Jan R to check this.

Jan R has checked and the 40 Anniversary is 19th March 2021. She has reported this to the Committee.

3. PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORT

Ann B gave her Annual Report via Powerpoint presentation. She explained that there had been lots of plans for events to look forward to, then Covid struck. The hall was subsequently closed to all but Pre-School, in line with Government Guidelines.

Ann B said that this year we had to think 'outside the box' and went through the years events, including the 65+ Christmas Dinner, delivered this year to doorsteps by helpers, supported by The White Horse, BDC, and PC; the Memory Wall in the Pinfold that was supported by PC; the Christmas lighting event; Madam Crepe.

Amanda H said that they were grateful to Micheal and Elaine Billington for allowing them to organise Madam Crepe outside The Angel Inn. It was hoped to do something similar in the future.

Other ideas are most welcome.

It has been an exceptionally challenging year for all and maintaining the Centre during Covid. Ann said she was aware how committed Committee Members were and how hard they work.

In answer to Liz Rowe question about deposits for the postponed VE Day Celebrations, it was confirmed that these were being held with Companies concerned.

4. TREASURER'S REPORT

Spencer R thanked Pat Swift and Tom Darby of Darbys Ltd for examining the accounts. Accounts showing both 2019 and 2020 for comparison were presented and Spencer R gave a brief summary of the major items.

Mandy Walker questioned the reduction of the cleaning costs and Spencer R explained that this was because the building had been closed from March 23rd to August 2020.

Mark Hooper (MPC Clerk) had submitted a written question ' was the £10,000 grant received from BDC ring fenced'. It was explained that it was a non taxable grant as a Charity and not ring fenced. Mandy W asked if any surplus would be clawed back. Ian C said it would not.

It was agreed to formally adopt the accounts.

The 2020 Income and expenditure account can be found on our website www.missoncommunityassoc.org.uk

Pat Swift of Darby's was proposed by Spencer R and elected as examiner of the accounts once again. Thanks went to Pat and also to Spencer R.

5. ELECTION OF MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND HONORARY OFFICERS

Ann B explained that there were 8 existing Committee Members. 50% needed to retire or be reappointed.

An email had been received prior to the meeting from Wendy Threlkeld stating her wish to resign and not be reelected onto the Committee.

The following also wished to resign and not stand for re-election:

Jan Robey; Spencer Robey; Sue Howard; Lizzy Clifton.

Mandy W asked if Spencer R would be standing down as Trustee, to which he replied no.

Ian Cotterhill said he was willing to take on the role of Treasurer and was nominated by Spencer R, seconded by Sue Howard.

Lucy Buckley wished to join the Committee and was nominated by Ian C, seconded by Lizzy C

Janis James also wanted to join the Committee and was nominated by Lizzy C, seconded by Spencer R.

Ann B said she knew of a couple of people who were interested in joining the Committee. She would speak to them before the next meeting.

Sue H said she was willing to carry on producing our part of the Newsletter and FB and posters. Her offer was accepted with thanks.

Jan & Spencer R said they were willing to continue running the 100+ Club. This was also agreed with thanks.

Minuted: It was agreed that the Mandate needed to be changed at the bank to reflect these changes. Mandy Walker, Reg Threlkeld and Elizabeth Clifton to be removed. New signatories to be Ian Cotterhill, Treasurer, Ann Beacham, Chair, Amanda Hannigan, Booking Secretary and Spencer Robey as Trustee and 100Club organiser.

6. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

Mandy W asked if there was any further information on a move of Pre-School to the Primary School. Ann B said she had not heard anything from Pre-School re any move and there had been no approach from Misson Primary School either.

Amanda H thanked the Chair for what have proved to be a very difficult year.

Date of Next AGM - 17th February 2022 Date of next MCA meeting - 17th March 2021

Meeting closed at 8.05pm